What’s got your heart?

I’ve been thinking a lot about giving recently. It’s a thing that God speaks to us about multiple times in the bible but still a commandment that many of us choose to ignore. I can’t count how many times I’ve heard people say things like, “I don’t think that God actually needs my money, after all He is God.”. It’s not that that statement isn’t true. God doesn’t need your money but God wants you.

1 Chronicles 29:14 say, “But who am I, and who are my people, that we should be able to give as generously as this? Everything comes from you, and we have only given you what comes from your hand”. To put this verse in context quickly it’s what David said after he collected supplies to build a temple for the Lord. I think it is a good reminder that everything we have has been given to us from God. So when God commands us to give to him it shouldn’t be difficult because it isn’t ours to start with. I sometimes think of it as returning something borrowed.
Where your treasure is there your heart will be also

I remember in 2010 when the soccer world cup was hosted in South Africa. The atmosphere and build up here was incredible. At my work we all pooled some money together and drew team names from a hat. The person with the winning team in the end won it all. After that I went from a person that had never watched a soccer game to someone absolutely obsessed. All of a sudden I was watching every game and reading up on players all simply because I had invested a small amount of money.  Matthew 6:21 says “For where your treasure is there your heart will be also”. This was such a clear case to me. I put a small treasure into a game and all of sudden my heart really was in it. I think this is part of the reason God asks us to give. God wants our hearts not our things. Our treasure doesn’t always have to refer to money, we can also invest ourselves in things with time and effort. As soon as you put anything into something it automatically becomes important to us. So the question is what’s got your heart and if it isn’t God why is it so hard to give?

I hope you enjoyed this post 🙂

♥ Ash ♥

Leave a Reply

