Stop Carrying that Stuff Around

I have been really blessed to have lived my entire life in beautiful South Africa, except for a few small holidays into Botswana, Zimbabwe and Namibia I have in fact never left. Because of the amazing privilege I have, on multiple occasions, come across the dung beetle. There have been times when I have stood and watched as they struggle to push balls of, well, poo much larger than themselves tirelessly around. Many of the times I have watched as gravity, gravity that heartless… force, take control and pull them back to where they started. Even worse I have seen them squashed because they simply couldn’t push that giant ball of, um…. poop off the road.

While watching these hardworking little (sometimes not so little) creatures I realised that I am very much like a dung beetle. I myself have been caught in the trap of tirelessly lugging unnecessary things around everywhere I go. I’m talking about more than the fact that my car has enough clothes and shoes to last me a month in it at any given time. I often find myself clinging on to the sin and pain that Jesus has already taken away and forgiven me for.

Stop carrying that stuff around (2)

Matthew 11:28-30 says, “Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavily burdened and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from Me. For I am meek and lowly in heart and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.” In this passage Jesus is telling us to leave behind the things holding us back. To hand over our burdens to him, so that we can learn to be like him. In that we will find that he will give us rest.

I often catch myself making life harder than it has to be because I’m still holding on to my sin that I won’t forgive myself for. I hold myself back because of conflict, envy and resentment. I sometimes literally find myself too anxious to concentrate on anything because of situations that I can’t control anyway. For some reason I wont stop trying to carry all that stuff around. Jesus wants to set us free. He doesn’t want us to live lives being held down by baggage.

If you’re anything like me you are busy thinking, “well that sounds great Ash, but how do I let it all go?” I don’t have all the answers to this questions, I will however mention what has helped me. If you have any answers please comment. The most obvious thing to do is to pray. You can ask God to help you to hand over the things holding you back, to strengthen you, grow your faith and full you with His joy. Spending time in prayer and reading the Word will help you grow closer to God, who is the one who will help you, heal you and set you free.

I also find the people you are surrounding yourself with and that you are letting have input into your life are so important. Try and surround yourself with people that are encouraging and that positively build you up. There is nothing like negative Nancy pointing out all of your flaws all the time that can break you down so fast. I would also suggest you find an accountability partner. This is person who you can trust that will be there to ask you the tough questions and hold you accountable to multiple things. An accountability partner is person that can call you out on things you’re messing up with because you’ve given them permission to and you have relational credit with them.

I hope you found this helpful and relevant. I would love to know what you think.

♥Ash♥

Leave a Reply

