God's Name, Scripture

Abba: God’s Names

I have recently been curious about the different names that God has been called. It’s something I have previously over-looked because in most English translations of the bible they are lost. The amazing thing about knowing more of God’s names is that they reflect aspects of his character. Previously I posted about His name ELOHIM and today I would like to look at Abba.

IMG_4982

The word Abba can be translated to mean Daddy. Abba is used multiple times in the bible. One of my favorite pieces of scripture that uses it is in Galations 4.

” Beacuse you are sons, God sent the Spirit of his Son into  our hearts, the Spirit who calls out “Abba, Father.” So you are no longer a slave, but a son; and since you are a son, God has also made you a heir.” Galations 4:6-7.

I find it so incredible that the creator of the entire universe, God who has more power than we could ever comprehend loves us so much that we are literally called to be his sons and daughters. He pours out his spirit into us so that we too can call Him Abba, father or Daddy.

I don’t know about you but I have been so blessed to have such a great a dad. When I think about my dad and the roles that he fulfills in my life it paints this incredible picture about the relationship that God wants with me.

God lets us call him Daddy. Too me the name Daddy is dripping with sentiments of a close and gentle relationship. The name Daddy is safe. My Dad is my protector, a provider, a counselor, a support and one of my biggest cheerleaders. He has also loved me enough to discipline me as a child and now have the tough conversations. God is the ultimate father. God wants us to have close relationship with him, a relationship where we feel safe. He wants to have the kind of relationship with him where we can accept his guidance and his discipline, an honest one. God wants us to be able to call him Daddy.

I would love to know what calling God Abba means to you.

♥Ash♥

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

